View Full Version : Beer

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

Mr Flibble
Aug 15th, 2006, 11:28 PM
I'm kinda skeptical of any list of vegan products compiled by a distributor/reseller for the purpose of flogging more stuff.

As an update, Old Rosie is indeed very pleasent :)

Aug 16th, 2006, 04:45 PM
Is there a Canadian list? How do you keep track of what's vegan and what's not? Do you print the list out and take it to the liquor store? I know NOTHING of different brands so when I go the liquor store, I don't know what I'm buying at all.

Aug 16th, 2006, 06:19 PM
How do you keep track of what's vegan and what's not?
You need a good memory!! I can remember a lot of stuff sometimes but I keep a list of vegan things in the car, then I can take whichever list I need into the appropriate shop. You could also store info on your mobile.

I don't know about a Canadian list...maybe you could start a thread about it?

Aug 16th, 2006, 06:38 PM
I don't have a mobile phone and I have a bad memory, so taking a list like a loser it is! :D

Aug 17th, 2006, 06:19 PM
westons bottled ciders are vegan
and budweiser is vegan but they sponsor bull fights I have been told.
also bud has alot of crap in it - its great for setting off alergy attacks for all sorts of things.

I cant uderstand why the big breweries discrimate against us so


Mr Flibble
Aug 17th, 2006, 07:13 PM
Before this turns into another duplicate thread I thought I'd point out that there's an existing thread specifically concerning spirits, liquours and other ingredients regularly found in cocktails here (http://veganforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=8156). Both westons and bud have been discussed previously in them.

Aug 17th, 2006, 07:21 PM
This thread is under food!

Aug 18th, 2006, 01:16 PM
This thread is under food!

CIDER is food just in liqued form, they say 5 a day, so if the orchard is closed on the way home and I can't be arsed to scrump 5 apples I drink 5 ciders :D

Back to the original question:-

Most White Rum is vegan all the well known brands.
Bedweiser is vegan and is pretty pure no chemicals but the parent company of Bud own sea world in florida, they do not promote bull fighting or own bull rings.

Becks is a great option.
Holstein Pils is also another.

Aug 18th, 2006, 10:51 PM
bud has sulphites as a preserative - as does most "dead" beers
it can be quite nasty although its not labeled on the bottle - but its definately there.

Im not sure about becks - as I have been told a few times that it was vegan but is no longer.
I dont drink larger as a rule and after 2 small bottles of bud set off a week long allergy attack I wont touch the stuff again.

Ive also heard the bull fighting sponsorship several times.

Its so hard to keep up with all the changes



Aug 19th, 2006, 09:06 AM
If you are saying that Becks is not vegan, what is your source of information? I asked them myself a while back and was told that it was, and this is generally accepted by the vegan community. Also, it's produced under the German purity law for beer which prohibits the use of any additives.

Aug 19th, 2006, 09:24 AM

I have 4 seperate friends who are vegan who have told me this, and I have seen it on other forums that it is nolonger vegan.
I agree german beers usually are vegan but isnt becks now brewed in the UK for the UK market?

looking in the animal free shopper its nolonger listed.

However I would check yourself to make sure as my info could be wrong.
Things change so much its so hard to keep up.

didnt they do the same with Heiniken and Stella a while back?

Ill email scottish courage - who supply it and comeback to you when I havea reply



Sep 28th, 2006, 04:38 PM
I was told that Shepherd Neame beers and particularly Spitfire are vegan.

It turns out that only the bottled beers and the keg beers are. Most draught ales are in casks except two in nitrokegs (smoothflow type beers).

Lagers seem to be available in casks and kegs.

Answer to my query:

Thank you for your enquiry about our beers.
None of our cask beers are suitable for vegans as they contain a cleaning
agent made from fish. All of our keg & bottles beers are suitable as they
do not contain this agent. This only applies to our company as other
breweries use different procedures.
I hope this is of assistance to you & you have the opportunity to try out
some of our beers.

Many Thanks.

Tracey Buddell
Shepherd Neame
Customer Service Advisor
Tel : 01795 597008
Fax: : 01795 597099
E-mail - Tbuddell@shepherdneame.co.uk

BOTTLE 1698 (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?bottle_1698)
SPITFIRE PREMIUM KENTISH STRONG ALE (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?spitfire)
BISHOPS FINGER KENTISH STRONG ALE (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?bishops_finger)
MASTER BREW BITTER (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?master_brew)
BEST BITTER (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?best_bitter)
EARLY BIRD SPRING HOP ALE (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?early_bird_spring_hop_ale)
GOLDINGS, SUMMER HOP ALE (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?goldings)
LATE RED, AUTUMN HOP ALE (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?late_red)
WHITSTABLE BAY ORGANIC ALE (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?whitstable_bay)
MASTER BREW SMOOTH (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?master_brew_smooth)
SPITFIRE SMOOTH (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?spitfire_smooth)

http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/gfx/cl.gif LAGERS
ASAHI SUPER DRY (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?asahi_super_dry)
ORANJEBOOM PILSENER (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?oranjeboom_pilsener)
HÜRLIMANN STERNBRAU (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?hurlimann_sternbrau)
HOLSTEN EXPORT (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?holsten_export)
KINGFISHER PREMIUM LAGER BEER (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?kingfisher_premium_lager_beer)
SAMUEL ADAMS BOSTON LAGER (http://www.shepherd-neame.co.uk/beers/index.php?samuel_adams)

Sep 29th, 2006, 08:42 AM
I agree german beers usually are vegan but isnt becks now brewed in the UK for the UK market?

Although Becks is brewed under license in various countries around the world, all the Becks I have ever seen in the UK say "Brewed in Bremen, Germany" and they are brewed under the German Purity law which states the only ingredients used are Barley, Hops and Water and yeast." When you buy it, just check for that statement, and you know you'll be OK.:)
Looking at some web sources, it also appears that all the licensed breweries also adhere to this rule, so it should be vegan wherever it's made.

Mr Flibble
Sep 29th, 2006, 08:55 AM
According to this page (http://www.europeanbeerguide.net/reinheit.htm) ("11 Reasons why the Reinheitsgebot is bollocks"), item 3:

3. The only permitted ingredients are malt, water, hops and yeast. . . .except for sugar in top-fermenting beers. Exactly why this is allowed in top-fermenting beers and forbidden in bottom-fermenting beers is a riddle to me. You will note that German brewers don't advertise the fact that sugar is sometimes allowed in their beers.

How vegan friendly is german sugar?

Sep 29th, 2006, 09:17 AM
Becks also specifically states on the bottle what the ingredients are, so I don't think that the sugar is an issue with Becks.
That being said, I think it's likely that german sugar is probably from beet (like most european sugar), which doesn't need the refining process that cane sugar has. But, like you, I don't rely on probablys for my vegan verification.

Oct 2nd, 2006, 11:22 AM
Extremely quick reply from Wychwood about vegan beers. They make SO Organic Blond Ale for Sainsbury which is labelled vegan.

Basically only their organic beers are vegan.

Hi Rob

Thanks for your e-mail.

Other beers we brew which are vegan are;

Wychwood Circlemaster
Duchy Originals Ale / Summer Ale and Winter Ale
Brakspear Live Organic Ale

These are also all organic ales.

I hope this helps.

Best Wishes

Georgina Hicks

Oct 4th, 2006, 01:51 PM
Becks is defiently vegan I emailed them less that 3 months ago and it listed on many vegan databases. All becks I see says imported from Germany.

Back to the reason for my post for those interested Jägermeister is Vegan

Dear Jayson,
We refer to your inquiry dated September 21st, 2006 which we like to comment as follows:
Jägermeister is an herb liqueur produced out of 56 herbs, roots, fruits, etc. These are without exception natural ingredients.
Animal products are not used for the production of Jägermeister and are therefore not contained in our product so that we can assume that Jägermeister is also suitable for vegans.
We hope having been of service with this information. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Kind regards,
Mast-Jägermeister AG
i. A. Sandra Glöhde
-----Ursprüngliche Nachricht-----
Von: Jayson Rowe
Gesendet: Donnerstag, 21. September 2006 10:52
An: international
Betreff: A Dietry Question

Dear Jaegermeister,

I am writing to ask if you can advise me if your product is suitable for vegan and vegetarian diets.
By this I mean does any of the process form pre and post production contain or use any animal derived products and animal derived by
products and of course any animal products during production. If this is the case it would be deemed unsuitable for vegan and vegetarian diets.

I hope you are able to help me and I look forward to hearing from you in the near future as this will help me make my purchasing decision much quicker.

Best wishes and thanks for your time


Oct 4th, 2006, 03:05 PM
Badger beers are vegan in bottles, cans, and kegs, but not casks.

Dear Rob

Thank you for contacting us, it is always wonderful to hear from our

To answer your question all of our Bottled and Canned Ales and Keg beers
are suitable for both Vegetarians and Vegans. However, our Cask Ale is
not. An animal product is used in the filtering process with Cask Ale,
and as such is not suitable for Vegetarian or Vegan consumption.

I hope this helps and answers your question.

Kind regards
Vicky Kerr
Marketing Assistant


Badger First Gold won double gold at the Brewing Industry International Awards 2005, winning best in category and best overall packaged ale. Visit us at www.badgerfirstgold.co.uk (http://www.badgerfirstgold.co.uk/).

Oct 13th, 2006, 03:14 PM
Badger beers are vegan in bottles, cans, and kegs, but not casks.

Yep you cant beat a bit of tangle foot nice beer...I once mailed them to Pob I got an email back from the lab guy, very good response as it yours.

Oct 13th, 2006, 03:22 PM
Snaff, i thought you only drank Scrumpy? What's this polluting your system with proper ales and beer?

AbFab, look at you and your champagne, what's the special occasion or is it just breakfast time?

All these questions need to be answered.

Oct 13th, 2006, 03:49 PM
I dont mind some of the real beers but they are so hard to get 100% vegan where as the cider is, yes I favour the scrumpy but I am partial to the odd ale or two.

Oct 24th, 2006, 08:38 PM
Has anyone checked to see if King Cobra is vegan yet?

Oct 24th, 2006, 09:25 PM
Cobra is vegan but I don't know what King Cobra is.

Nov 1st, 2006, 09:31 PM
Thank you for all this info!!!

Soul Rebel
Nov 2nd, 2006, 12:13 PM
Cobra is vegan but I don't know what King Cobra is.

King cobra is cheap malt liquor and made by Anheuser-Busch.