View Full Version : Beer

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32

Apr 25th, 2004, 07:16 PM
I would like to say that I find it safe to assume when I have a beer, or even a glass of wine or some liquor that I'm not eating any animal products, but when you assume, you make an ass out of u and me ;)

I don't really know how alcohol is made, aside from the fact that wine comes from grapes, and liquor from grains (I believe), so I don't know what companies, especially beer manufacturers, put in their drinks. Part one of my question is are alcoholic drinks vegan? Part two is do you drink alcohol?

I personally drink, but not very often (2-3 times a month, and I only started recently). I did say that my purpose for becomming vegan was for my health, so I do see the hypocrisy in it. However, I'm young (just turned 18) and when I go out with friends I like to drink. I'm going to try and drink less when I start university (but from what I hear it goes the other way around) and we'll see what happens.


For info, since this thread was getting quite long, what with beer, cider, wine, spirit, pimms, and sangria posts etc, a number of posts have now been moved (where possible) to make seperate threads, all in the 'drink' forum. Hopefully making it easier for all to find info. Any queries, please pm me. ;)

Apr 26th, 2004, 02:52 AM
i like to drink personally when i do get the time to go out. (once or twice a month)

often beer and wine use animal products to clairify it, but spirits such as vodka and rum dont seem to use animal products. here are two links to info about beers and wines:

beer: http://www.vegansociety.com/html/food/drink/alcohol/beers.php

wine: http://www.vegansociety.com/html/food/drink/alcohol/wines.php

Apr 26th, 2004, 04:19 AM
most wine and alot of beer is clarified with isenglass (i think thats what it's called). from what i've read, isenglass can be anything from fish guts to pigs blood. you can still find alot of vegan beer though. if you're ever in doubt, get german. all beer brewed in germany has to follow strict brewing laws that don't allow for the use of animal byproducts in the filtering.

Apr 28th, 2004, 03:54 PM
I like to have a glass of wine with dinner. In the UK it's fairly easy to get vegan wine and beer - sometimes it is even labelled as such in supermarkets - but probably the easiest option is to order it from a specialist company like Vintage Roots or Vinceremos.

Apr 28th, 2004, 09:58 PM
isn't sam smith a british beer? cause damn, that oat meal stout of theirs good as hell (and vegan). other than that, it's hard to find vegan british imports here.

Apr 29th, 2004, 11:37 AM
Yes, I think Sam Smith is one of ours. Glad you like it - I'll look out for the oatmeal stout. There are quite a few bottled beers here that are vegan but unfortunately "real ale" (sold in a pub, from a handpump) is usually clarified with some animal product - think it's isinglass (fish liver :( ) Seems to be a bit of an Achilles' heel for some UK vegans.

By the way I have a wine-loving vegan friend in the US who sometimes buys Kosher wine, which apparently is vegan by definition. (Or maybe it has to be "Kosher for Passover", I'm not sure.)

Apr 29th, 2004, 02:08 PM
Pitfield brewery in London uk do a stout, check http://www.pitfieldbeershop.co.uk/html/pitfield_beers.html . Hopefully someones getting some for me this weekend. They are at the London vegan festival in July.

I haven't used them before, but www.vinceremos.co.uk will deliver outside of the uk. I don't know how much it would cost you though.

Most if not all German beers would be vegan. Some law that prevents anything other than natural ingredients to be added.

Jul 25th, 2004, 07:00 PM
By the way I have a wine-loving vegan friend in the US who sometimes buys Kosher wine, which apparently is vegan by definition. (Or maybe it has to be "Kosher for Passover", I'm not sure.)

I did a bit of research, and it turns out that, no, Kosher wine is not necessarily vegan. I found this at http://www.friendsofanimals.org/action/fall2003/vino.html:

Kosher wines won't contain casein or animal blood, so they are vegetarian, but not necessarily vegan. There are a few different organizations that certify wine and other food products as kosher, and while some eschew egg whites, others will certify a wine as kosher as long as all of the egg whites were removed from the final product.

St George
Jul 25th, 2004, 07:32 PM
I got my info on alcohol from here http://isitvegan.info/

Jul 25th, 2004, 08:20 PM
Sorry to hear that, Hasha. Maybe it's got to be "Kosher for Passover" then - I'll ask him.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 04:32 AM
I've heard some people mention that they can buy alcohol labelled as "vegan". I have never seen this, but if I did, I would buy it! Has anyone in Canada ever seen this vegan labelled alcohol?

Sep 23rd, 2004, 04:41 AM
Some wines are labeled vegan. The Radical Red wine I mentioned above says "vegan" on the label.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 04:45 AM
Thanks John, but I have never seen this in Canada. I'm hoping someone in Canada will be able to let me know if they've seen that kind of thing here.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 04:48 AM
I didn't see the "Canada" part the first time I looked. I think that America exports to Canada though.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 04:55 AM
Yep, you're right. They do. And now that I think about it - I think every province here in Canada has different rules pertaining to alcohol and what can be imported and sold. I've only lived here for 2.5 years and am still getting used to all this government-owned liquor business crap.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 05:27 AM
If I lived in Vancouver I probably wouldn't even drink; if it's anything like I heard it is. I only drink when I go out to bars.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 05:31 AM
What's that supposed to mean? I don't do the bar/nightclub scene so I don't know what you mean.

I prefer to have a quiet sherry or a vodka and pineapple juice at home.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 05:35 AM
Actually, I drink with friends outside of bars too. I have heard that Vancouver and Amsterdam have some similarities.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 05:43 AM
If you mean like drug problems, yes, there are certain areas that I would not walk around in, by myself, during the day or the night. In the downtown east, there are plenty of homeless drug-users who discard of their needles quite carelessly and plenty of hookers too. But most decent people, wouldn't set foot inside a bar in that kind of area. Scummy bars attract scummy clientelle.

Sep 23rd, 2004, 05:45 AM
Uh...Yeah that's it. I guess I just heard false rumors. :(

Sep 23rd, 2004, 05:50 AM
lol well I haven't been to Amsterdam, so I don't really know what the deal is in that city, other than the little bit I've seen on TV. Girls in windows, marijuana cafes and human poo in the streets from memory. :rolleyes:

Sep 23rd, 2004, 08:49 AM
Uh...Yeah that's it. I guess I just heard false rumors. :(

There was a cafe in Vancouver that was well-known for selling small amounts of pot to its clientele but it has stopped its practice lately. And another one that I've been to where they don't sell (or at least as much and as openly)but allow its patron to smoke it. Officially it's illegal in Canada but in a few restaurant spots in Vancouver the police had paid no mind to them. But I think they're cracking down more.

Oct 14th, 2004, 10:40 AM
I have been just looking at The Bristol Vegan guide online and they have a small artical in the back regarding vegan drinks but I noticed some beers in the guide I thought were unsuitable (the ones in bold)

Bass Grolsch (except 275ml bottle); Budweiser; All; Carlsberg-Tetley Carlsberg, Lowenbrau; Pils Charles Wells Beers Can, Bottle, Keg (NOT Cask): Bombardier Bitter, Eagle Bitter,
Banana Bread Beer, Red Stripe Lager, Kirin; Lager, Cobra Lager; Interbrew Heineken; Export, Hoegaarden, Rolling Rock; Scottish
Courage Ltd Beck's, Holsten Pils

Aspall Suffolk Cyder: Dry, Medium, Organic; Bulmer UK Ltd Bulmers Original, Bulmers; Traditional (keg only), Strongbow, Symonds; Scrumpy Jack, White Lightning, Woodpecker
Cider; Dunkerton's Cider Company Black Fox; Sparkling Medium Dry, Premium Organic; Sparkling, Kingston Black Cider; Sedlescombe; Organic Vineyard Dry Cider; Thatchers All

In the Beers section I noticed Grolsch now a while back I read that only the
450ml swing top bottles and keg Grolsh was Vegan

In the Ciders the Woodpecker and Strongbow, again I am sure these have alway been unsuitable, I think this info was from the animal free shopper not the latest edition though...

Have these companies updated the process to a vegan one ? Confused :confused:


Oct 14th, 2004, 10:55 AM
Just looked on isitvegan.com and they say the following are only vegan
KEG/450ml swing tops and 1.5ltr Swing Tops

Oct 30th, 2004, 01:17 PM
I read today about Marble Beer Brewery (est. 1997) that brews organic and vegan beers. They brew in Manchester and can be found in some establishments throughout the city including the Marble Arch Inn, 73 Rochdale road, (0161 832 5914)