PDA

View Full Version : Food past its sell by date

Pages : [1] 2

feral
Apr 14th, 2006, 06:57 PM
.. would roasted pumpkin seeds be safe to eat 2mths past their sell by date?

tabitha
Apr 14th, 2006, 06:59 PM
chuck em in the bin I would.

feral
Apr 14th, 2006, 07:03 PM
Darnit! I've two packets at £2.50 each... hubby was gonna risk it but I don't fancy spending the night listening to him blowin holes in the porcelain.

tabitha
Apr 14th, 2006, 07:05 PM
Im no expert. Im just a bit paranoid about out of date things (ironic really since Im a bit past me sell by date...)

feral
Apr 14th, 2006, 07:09 PM
Aaaww no you're not girl, you're a fit, healthy vixen in your prime!

Risker
Apr 14th, 2006, 07:14 PM
I'd eat them, how long was the sell by date originally? if it was a year or more then I can't see how another 2 months can make much difference, especially if it is a sell by date rather than a use by date.

feral
Apr 14th, 2006, 07:18 PM
Well it's best before 01.03.06 and they've been lurkin in the kitchen for about 5mths so I don't know how long of a best before date they usually have..... they're the clearspring organic roasted pumkin seeds... I was just wondering if seeds are prone to toxic fungus like nuts are?

Thanks for your opinions guys.

sugarmouse
Apr 14th, 2006, 07:25 PM
if it was me i would probably eat them if they tasted ok-i hate wasting food..but then i do not want to be responsable for your trots! so its up to you.is it 'sell by' and not 'best before' or 'use by?'
'use by' is the one that realy matters.

feral
Apr 14th, 2006, 07:27 PM
It's best before sugarmouse... it'll be hubbies trotts lol I'll maybe just stay at my friends if it goes down that way hehe

sugarmouse
Apr 14th, 2006, 08:09 PM
lol yeh stayout the way!y
ou are usually ok with best before...all it means is the product literally reached its 'best' before said date.i tink it would be ok as long as they dont smell,look, or taste off.:)lol

Wildflower
Apr 14th, 2006, 11:32 PM