PDA

View Full Version : Contortion

ladyaprille
Sep 30th, 2006, 01:43 PM
This may sound very odd - but I am extremely interested in contortion - i know u have to start young to become a professional - but i would LOVE to train into the basics - and i think now is a fab time, as im getting fitter, toning and i should hope to become more flexible too - does anyone here have any ideas i could do? - there are no groups here - nor yoga classes and pilates - im a student too so it would be expensive. I know i need to stretch and stretch that little bit further each day-but does this honestly work?

HMMM - ideas and help would be fabulous please

Aprille

fiamma
Sep 30th, 2006, 02:00 PM
Here's some info (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Contortion)ladyaprille, there are some links at the bottom. All the best! :)

twinkle
Sep 30th, 2006, 09:29 PM
Rubber Ritchie! (http://www.flexinthecity.com/)

He's a vegan contortionist, we saw him last year at the London Vegan Festival - very entertaining. I should think he'll have some good info.

Wildflower
Oct 2nd, 2006, 12:15 AM
Wow - maybe I should be a contortionist!

I have always been very flexible - probably due to swimming and ballet and gymnastics growing up. I still swim and do yoga when I can.

Tigerlily
Oct 2nd, 2006, 03:37 AM
I'm so unflexible. I can't even touch my toes without having to bend my back and my knees. :rolleyes:

Roxy
Oct 2nd, 2006, 03:59 AM
If you were to take up Yoga, Tigerlily - it would really help with your flexibility.

Tigerlily
Oct 2nd, 2006, 04:08 AM
I'm too shy for that sort of thing. :o I want to but I'm so uncomfortable with the idea of being with so many people. :o

Roxy
Oct 2nd, 2006, 04:48 AM
Hmmmmm......well there are only usually 7 or 8 ladies in my class. Maybe you can find a Yoga Centre that has smaller size classes.

vegantofu*k
Oct 2nd, 2006, 05:42 PM