PDA

View Full Version : Fantasizing about being an omni cook

Yogini
Nov 13th, 2006, 12:04 AM
Not because I want to eat that junk, but because I need the ego stroking. I'm a great cook and that's usually enough. But once in a while, I'd really like to hear "MMMM yum oh my god" instead of "it's pretty good...FOR VEGAN FOOD."

Does anybody else ever feel this way?

Wildflower
Nov 13th, 2006, 12:29 AM
I like to watch those cooking competition shows on tv, and i would love to cook like that. It doesn't seem like there are a lot of vegan or even vegetarian chefs out there of high rank. i could be wrong, but it just doesn't seem that way.

i would love to master the art of vegan pastry making.

i would never want to be a chef in a kitchen like that (too many crazy hours and cooking under stress), but i do fantasize about making fabulous meals at home and hosting dinner parties and such.

Seaside
Nov 13th, 2006, 02:27 AM
"it's pretty good...FOR VEGAN FOOD."
Nobody's ever said that to me. I've only ever cooked for omnis, and they have said stuff like "that's the best _____ I've ever had", or "is there any more?" or "can I have the recipe?", and there's never any leftovers, so I guess that's a good thing. None of them have ever turned vegan, but they never complain about what I make. :o

Yogini
Nov 15th, 2006, 06:48 AM
i would never want to be a chef in a kitchen like that (too many crazy hours and cooking under stress), but i do fantasize about making fabulous meals at home and hosting dinner parties and such.

Yeah, I wouldn't want to cook professionally, either. For the reasons you mention and also because many pros are real divas (apparently; I don't think I've ever actually met one.)

Korn
Nov 15th, 2006, 07:11 AM
Not because I want to eat that junk, but because I need the ego stroking. I'm a great cook and that's usually enough. But once in a while, I'd really like to hear "MMMM yum oh my god" instead of "it's pretty good...FOR VEGAN FOOD."

I've heard a lot of...