PDA

View Full Version : Ecuador!

Pages : [1] 2

pixeequeen
Nov 24th, 2006, 09:23 PM
Big news!

I am going to Ecuador in February for 4 months to volunteer at a rescue/rehabilitation centre.

I am VERY excited as I have been building up to this for years, and I plan to learn and do so much (I'm even quitting my job and leaving my house... it;s really going to be a bit of a life-change).

I have to go and get vaccinations next week which I am not too pleased about cos I generally do a very good job at staying away from all medication (I realise I am very lucky here) but anyway I am busy getting myself at peace with that and that's not the point of this thread.

I was just wondering if anyone had any vegan experience of Ecuador. I am anticipating lots of fruit veg rice and noodles; I don't think it will be too bad, but any gems of wisdom are always so helpful.

Spanx!

Roxy
Nov 25th, 2006, 03:39 AM
Wow! That's unreal pixeequeen! Congratulations :D

I've no experience of Ecuador, but just wanted to pop in and wish you all the very best!!

Korn
Nov 25th, 2006, 08:38 AM
I've been wanting to go to Ecuador for a while myself - please let us know if you find any interesting places there!

Here are some links to people/sites that may have interesting info for you:

http://www.blacksheepinn.com/
http://www.happycow.net/south_america/ecuador/index.html
http://www.responsibletravel.com/Accommodation/Accommodation100083.htm
http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ecuadorvegan/
http://www.ivu.org/articles/business/food-ecuador.html
http://www.vegdining.com/GetRestList.cfm?rgk=SA-ECU&CFID=2901506&CFTOKEN=44790804
http://nwfolk.com/vegquito.html
http://www.ecuadorexplorer.com/html/ecuador_food.html#vegeterian
http://www.thebestofecuador.com/brestaur.htm#vegi
http://travel.yahoo.com/p-travelguide-2757759-le_champignon_quito-i;_ylt=AtcGP62U1ZAmlYbM0PYzsmL4FmoL

pixeequeen
Nov 26th, 2006, 10:08 AM
Thanks Roxy! It's pretty much everythig I've ever wanted to do a wooo hoo