PDA

View Full Version : Recycling soya milk cartons?

mjnewbould
Jan 16th, 2007, 02:47 PM
I'm new to this and maybe you have discussed this before - but my question concerns the soya milk cartons - can one put them into recycle? are there some that are particularly good for this and some that are not so good - does anyone know?

Mr Flibble
Jan 16th, 2007, 03:03 PM
It depends on your county - some recycle drinks cartons, some don't. Have a look on your council's website.

Gorilla
Jan 16th, 2007, 04:10 PM
This website (http://www.tetrapakrecycling.co.uk/) should also help you find out if cartons are recycled in your area. if there's currently no collection you can send them to Tetra Pak but you have to pay the postage. unfortunately drink cartons are not very environmentally-friendly.

it is possible to make your own soya milk which obviously cuts out the need for such packaging, but i haven't had very good results from that myself. there is a thread on this forum about making your own soya milk if you're interested. Soya milk makers (http://veganforum.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2365)

Maisiepaisie
Jul 17th, 2007, 09:48 AM
This website (http://www.tetrapakrecycling.co.uk/) should also help you find out if cartons are recycled in your area. if there's currently no collection you can send them to Tetra Pak but you have to pay the postage. unfortunately drink cartons are not very environmentally-friendly.I had a look at that link and was disappointed to find that the facilities available for recycling tetra paks are very few and far between :( I decided to write this letter to the councillor in charge of recycling facilities

Dear *****