PDA

View Full Version : Not using soy

Pages : [1] 2

DianeVegan
Jun 25th, 2006, 09:14 PM
Researchers have discovered 2 soybeans that are free of the allergen some people are sensitive to - read about it here. (http://www.foodnavigator.com/news/ng.asp?n=67547&m=2fsn509&c=ygonxcyvsuqokio&idP=1) The best part is that the process does not include genetic engineering and the researchers are NOT GOING TO PATENT THEM to make a lot of money. Unbelievable.

Tigerlily
Jun 25th, 2006, 09:55 PM
Yay! That would make soy allergic vegans a little happier (and easier to live)!

GoGreen
Nov 22nd, 2006, 11:55 PM
Hi Everyone,
I am new to message boards and new to this forum, so please bear with me...
I have been vegan for about 2 years with a recent fall off the wagon, but am now back with renewed inspiration.
One thing I really struggle with is meal preparation and eating enough of the real foods and not eating strictly high carb, out of package foods (blood sugar problems). Plus, I try to avoid soy.
Does anyone have any suggestions or similar problems?

Nice to see so many other vegans out there and from all over the world! :)

eve
Nov 23rd, 2006, 12:25 AM
Hi GoGreen
Struggling with meal preparation? If you have a ricer, just put the rice into the container, cover with water, then into the steamer lid put plenty of broccoli or cauli, or other greens, plus perhaps some sweet potato. After 20 minutes, eat it with relish.

If you don't have a ricer, then simply get whatever vegies you have, barely cover with water, and cook for less than 10 minutes. Into whatever liquid remains, sprinkle some nutritious yeast flakes.