View Full Version : is Sour Culture Vegan

Dec 8th, 2007, 02:05 AM
I was reading the ingredients on one of my favorite breads and I saw it contains Sour Culture. What the heck is that. Is it ok to eat?

Dec 8th, 2007, 02:27 AM
"Sourdough starter (B): also known as "starter culture", "sourdough culture" or "sour culture". It is usually made with a mixture of flour and water inhabited by yeast and lactobacteria containing no animal ingredients. Sometimes yogurt is used in the starter. Bread made from a sourdough culture is called sourdough bread"

from here (http://http://www.veganpeace.com/ingredients/ingredients.htm)

If the bread states it's Kosher Pareve (sp?), that means it can't contain milk or meat products so that would rule out the yogurt aspect. Kosher Pareve can however contain fish, honey, and other things we avoid though so don't trust it to always be vegan.

Edit: I just checked your link. Honey's not vegan. Sorry. [I've made the same mistake myself, it's so easy to overlook]

Dec 8th, 2007, 02:31 AM
generally, sour culture for wheat breads is merely a fermented concoction of wheat and water used as a raising agent instead of wheat. You could contact the bakery and see what they say. I'll assume the inclusion of honey doesn't bother you?

Dec 8th, 2007, 02:42 AM
Crap, it's always something. Darn Honey....