PDA

View Full Version : Soup And The City....

Jeebs
Dec 18th, 2007, 01:31 AM
Hey!
I enjoy making my own soup, I usually opt for a lentil variety.
Hell, I LOVE soup.
However I don't always have time to prepare it. I'm still relatively new to Veganism and was wondering if anyone knew what supermarkets stocked vegan soups?
The Sainsburys in the city centre - everything has milk in it. The larger Tesco on Broad Street has some 'Seeds of Change' I think they're called. Can anyone confirm if their 'spicy lentil' or 'four bean' is vegan???

Or just anywhere in Birmingham city centre that does a good vegan soup??

Thanks for your help!

:D

harpy
Dec 18th, 2007, 09:19 AM
Do you have a Waitrose? They usually have two or three that seem to be vegan and in some cases may actually be marked vegan. Some are their own brand and some another (organic) brand.

Sorry to be so vague but I will try and remember to check the varieties next time I'm in there. Their own-brand tomato and lentil is one that seems to be stuck in my mind. ETA I'm talking about the fresh/chilled ones - is that what you're after?

The Seeds of Change website has ingredients lists http://www.seedsofchange.co.uk/our_foods/category.aspx?id=soups though it doesn't actually seem to use the v-word.

~*Sarah*~
Jan 7th, 2008, 10:06 PM
im pretty sure heinz vegetable soup is vegan....

not the healthiest but good as a stand-by as it can be bought at practically any corner shop :)

PaintedXSkyline
Jan 7th, 2008, 11:15 PM
.... the titles of this thread amuses me.

i cant help though.. i dont eat soup. sorry. :(

Risker
Jan 8th, 2008, 02:04 AM
im pretty sure heinz vegetable soup is vegan....

Yeah, I had some of that recently, I seem to remember it not being vegan though so maybe they've changed the recipe recently? anyway, it is now.

Baxters label their soups as suitable for vegans.

fondducoeur
Jan 8th, 2008, 02:23 PM