PDA

View Full Version : Jelly Filled Donuts

PaintedXSkyline
Jan 24th, 2009, 02:17 AM
This is my first time making donuts, and they came out perfectly. This recipe is really easy to follow and the end result is delicious!

INGREDIENTS

1 cup warm soymilk (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
1/3 cup water
3 tablespoons margarine, melted
3/4 cup white sugar
4 1/2 cups bread flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoons ground nutmeg
1 tablespoon active dry yeast
3/4 cup any flavor fruit jam
2 quarts vegetable oil for frying
DIRECTIONS

In a large pan add the soymilk, water, melted margarine, sugar, flour, salt, nutmeg, and yeast and knead into a dough.
Turn dough out onto a floured board and let rest for ten minutes.
Roll dough out to 1/4 inch thickness. With floured cookie cutter, cut into 2 1/2 inch rounds. (I used a large wine glass instead of a cookie cutter)
Place 1/2 teaspoon jam or jelly in center of half of the rounds. Moisten edges with cold water; top with the remaining rounds, pinch edges together firmly. Place sealed doughnuts on an greased baking sheet. Cover and let rise until doubled in a warm place, about 45 minutes.
http://i41.tinypic.com/qn69sy.jpg
5. Heat oil in deep fryer to 375 degrees F (175 degrees C). Fry one layer of doughnuts at a time. Turn doughnuts as they rise to the surface until golden brown, about 2 to 3 minutes. Remove from oil, being careful not to poke doughnuts. Drain onto paper towels.
http://i44.tinypic.com/ae9o9z.jpg

http://i41.tinypic.com/24fwuia.jpg

(Recipe modified from Allrecipes (http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Jelly-Doughnuts/Detail.aspx))

veganwitch
Jan 24th, 2009, 02:26 AM
OMG! Thanks so much for posting this. I can't wait to try them. I've been obsessing about jelly donuts for ages.

PaintedXSkyline
Jan 24th, 2009, 02:27 AM
No problem.
Tell me how they turn out. :)

Marrers
Jan 24th, 2009, 09:06 AM
Looks tasty!

mariana
Jan 24th, 2009, 02:42 PM