PDA

View Full Version : Cutting out the crap and Going Raw

brighteyed
Mar 3rd, 2009, 04:44 AM
Whew it's been a long time since I've been on this forum! So much has changed in my life... for the better :) I'm stronger and fitter and happier than ever before. That said, I want to rid my diet of a few unhealthy things and move from my current plan (about 75% raw- raw food, soy milk & protein, coffee & drinks) to a 100% raw plan.

Mainly, I want to cut out the unhealthy drinks (coffee, soda), GUM, and artificial sweeteners which are TERRIBLE for my health. I've watched my body's reaction to different foods and I find that my digestion and mental clarity is best when I stick to wholesome, raw foods. No problem, right? :satisfied:

Not so- I am a poor college student with no car and only a microfridge & a hand blender. I'm addicted to sweets (candy, gum, coffee w/splenda). Am I doomed to never change?

I'm trying to slowly make the transition, but I get frustrated and low in energy quite easily, making me return to my habits.

Here's my attempt for today:
B- apple, two oranges blended into smoothie
S- 2 carrots, tsp peanut butter
L- large salad w/ tsp seeds, every kind of veg known to man, and olives
S- apple, 5 baby carrots w/ tsp pb, celery and pepper strips
D- greens w/ sprouts, a little hummus (not raw), tomatoes, carrots, olives w/ balsamic
S- (an hour later starving) more carrots w/pb, 1/2 cup almond milk, apple
Then I gave in to the cold weather and had 2 cups of tea w/almond milk and 1/2 cube veg bouillion. And I'm chewing gum :(

I feel kind of dizzy and tired and I'm wondering if I'm doing this right or if I'm just adjusting to the lack of caffeine. And tips/experiences/books/sites that might help me would be greatly appreciated!!

Thanks and wish me well in my journey towards becoming raw :D

Quantum Mechanic
Mar 3rd, 2009, 06:23 AM