PDA

View Full Version : milk

gyp5ym00n
Jul 9th, 2009, 05:58 AM
Looking for input on milk. I don't like soy milk and I don't like rice milk. Only other ones I've heard of are Almond and Hemp (but I've never tried or seen either one). Is there any others? I dislike soy and rice because it's too sweet. I do not like sweet stuff, heck I don't even like sweets in general and prefer veggies over fruit because fruit is too sweet for me. So what's a good vegan NON sweet milk I might like?

Red Lion
Jul 9th, 2009, 07:13 AM
The only non-sweetened vegan vegan milk I know of is unsweeteened soya
milk,I've been using it for over 20 years and I find it actually makes muesli
and other breakfast cereals taste better,I also enjoy it on it's own.It is
basically persevering with it and you will find you come to like it.Before I
became vegan I used to drink cows milk,literally as they say "until the cows
come home" now the only milk I drink is soya,I have never heard of hemp
milk,almond milk I have never tried and rice milk I have but I will stick with
soya.I trust I have been of some help gyp5mOOn

harpy
Jul 9th, 2009, 08:45 AM
I don't know where you are but in the UK there's also oat milk, which as far as I know isn't sweetened; you may find it's naturally sweeter than you like, though. Like Red Lion I would think unsweetened soy milk could be a good bet if you can get used to it.

If it's for tea/coffee I think there may be some vegan "creamers" but I don't know anything about them as I don't take milk in tea/coffee myself.

Ms_Derious
Jul 9th, 2009, 11:43 AM
As Harpy says, there is also oatmilk. It's really easy to make your own with some cooked oatmeal, water and a blender. If you google, you'll find loads of recipes :)

I find sweetened soymilk horrible! Shop around for non sweetened ones, you might find something you like.

Cherry
Jul 9th, 2009, 05:52 PM