PDA

View Full Version : Best vegan brand?

Shivles
Dec 9th, 2009, 10:59 AM
What are your favorite vegan brand names in the UK and what do they sell? Im trying to get as many products in my head as I can since im still new to this and have trouble finding stuff :)

I like

Original Source: shower gel, shampoo etc
Cauldron: tofu
Alpro soya: soy milk, yogurt etc.
Barry M: make-up
Lush: soap, shampoo, moisturisers, body glitter bars etc

Mr Flibble
Dec 9th, 2009, 11:35 AM
Cauldron are probably one of my least favourite tofu makers. Taifun and Clearspot are far better.

harpy
Dec 9th, 2009, 11:43 AM
Plamil and Redwood are both handy brandnames to remember because they only make vegan stuff so you don't have to read the labels for once.

Plamil http://www.plamilfoods.co.uk/products/
Redwoods http://www.redwoodfoods.co.uk/

Senza
Dec 10th, 2009, 12:40 PM
My favourite tofu is made by an Edinburgh company called Engine Shed (http://www.theengineshed.org/).

Another Edinburgh based company called Jordan Valley (http://www.edinburghspotlight.com/2009/11/jordan-valley-foods-saleh-safi/) make all sorts of vegan treats for sale in glasgow and edinburgh at least.

I pretty much always have some of Provamel's blueberry yoghurt in the fridge too..

leedsveg
Dec 10th, 2009, 06:47 PM
The price of Cauldron tofu in Morrisons seemed to go up overnight from £1-09p to £1-58 overnight and I'm not sure why.

The prices of Tofutown/Viana products sold in the Out of this World store in Leeds have also rocketed over the last few months. An assistant explained that 'It's because they're made in Germany and the sterling/euro exchange rate is poor.' Maybe, but not as poor as that.

lv

Shivles
Dec 11th, 2009, 10:53 AM
I learned recently a lot of superdrug own brand stuff is vegan! Makes my life so much easier x

The Lurker
Dec 11th, 2009, 11:28 AM