PDA

View Full Version : Oamc

Mystic
Feb 16th, 2005, 04:29 AM
Stands for once a month cooking...basically this means that once a month you cook up a batch of stuff and freeze it, so you have heat and eat meals that are healthy. This seems like a great option for me as I am starting uni in a week and a half and I don't want to end up living on baked beans and pasta. Does anyone else eat their own frozen food and does it taste ok? I have never done it before. Any recipes for stuff that freezes well (and is cheap) would be greatly appreciated. I have so far got frozen lentil soup and frozen butterbean and herb cream soup (I am stocking up LOL :) )

Tigerlily
Feb 16th, 2005, 12:52 PM
I never freeze my food. But then again I'm spoiled and I live at home with a stay-at-home mom who cooks for me most of the time.

:p

Gorilla
Feb 16th, 2005, 12:59 PM
dhal freezes well, Banana, i know you like your dhal :)

veg chilli works well, most soups are fine, pasta sauces, those are the sort of things i usually freeze.

Tigerlily
Feb 16th, 2005, 02:33 PM
What sort of containers do you freeze yours in?

Mystic
Feb 16th, 2005, 08:38 PM
Could I cook rice with the dhal and freeze that too - like a microwave meal?

Tigerlily - to freeze stuff you need airtight containers

MzNatural
Feb 18th, 2005, 04:10 PM
I did this during my final month of pregnancy. I made a lot of foods so I would have a few months of heat/serve meals after my daughter was born. They weren’t as good as freshly readily prepared meals but definitely more delicious than the prepared meals you purchase in the store. ;)

PinkFluffyCloud
Feb 18th, 2005, 04:16 PM
Could I cook rice with the dhal and freeze that too - like a microwave meal?

Tigerlily - to freeze stuff you need airtight containers

Yes, you can freeze Rice, but do make sure it's thoroughly heated when you want it.

foxytina_69
Feb 18th, 2005, 05:03 PM