PDA

View Full Version : Are Bisto Onion Gravy Granules vegan?



Genequeen
Oct 12th, 2012, 02:51 PM
Hi all,

Can I please confirm that Bisto Onion Gravy Granules are definitely vegan? I thought they were but I noticed in the product ingredients on Tesco website that it contains E365 so I looked this up on wikipedia and it states that Disodium 5' ribonucleotides (E number E365) is a flavour enhancer which is synergistic with glutamates. It is a mixture of disodium inosinate and disodium guanylate. Guanylates and inosinates are generally produced from meat, but partly also from fish. They are thus not suitable for vegans and vegetarians.

I won't order this item until I read your replies.

Thank you all once again.

Clueless Git
Oct 13th, 2012, 02:17 PM
365 Sodium fumarate

Origin:
Sodium salt of fumaric acid (E297), a natural acid.
Function & characteristics:
Acidity regulator.
Products:
Confectionery, bakery products, baking powder, etc.
Acceptable Daily Intake:
Up to 6 mg/kg body weight.
Side effects: None known; it is metabolised by the body (it is a normal component of all body cells).
Dietary restrictions: Fumaric acid and fumarates can be used by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians.


http://www.food-info.net/uk/e/e365.htm



Name(s): Sodium fumarates, Sodium fumarate, Monosodium fumarate.
Classification: Antioxidant, Acidity regulator.
Functional Class(es): Acidity regulator.
CAS Number(s): 7704-73-6.
Chemical Formula(s): C4H3NaO4.
Chemical Name(s): Monosodium fumarate, monosodium trans-butenedioic acid, monosodium trans-1,2-ethylenedicarboxylate, monosodium trans-1,2-ethylenedicarboxylic acid.
Function Details: Acidity regulator.
Origin: Sodium salt of fumaric acid (E297), a natural acid.
Description: Odourless, white crystalline powder.
Dietary Restriction(s): Fumaric acid and fumarates can be used by all religious groups, vegans and vegetarians.
Side Effect(s): No side effects known.
Last Update: Updated up to the 34^th Session of the Codex Alimentarius Commission (2011).


http://myadditives.co.uk/archives/25279


When I checked the ingredients list on this gravy I panicked because it contains E635 which is usually derived from meat or fish. I gave premier foods a call and they informed me that they use E365 which is the Ribotide version, which is Vegan.

http://veggies.co.uk/2011/07/08/bisto-best-caramelised-onion-gravy/


Hope that helps!

Genequeen
Oct 16th, 2012, 03:08 PM
Thank you - I will now order and enjoy with peace of mind! :-)

Clueless Git
Oct 17th, 2012, 11:42 AM
Thank you - I will now order and enjoy with peace of mind! :-)

You are most welcome Genequeen :)

I highly recomending enjoy it by indulging in some Fry's sausages in onion gravy.

That one, served with a small mountain of mash and peas, is a great 'omni-pleaser' in my experience also!