PDA

View Full Version : Low carb vegan

Festered
Jun 13th, 2013, 11:03 PM
I want to do a low-carb diet. I've always known I am sensitive to carbs , if I eat a carb-rich meal I am almost asleep within half an hour of it.
I also have noticed that I can eat until I am full and be hungry again within couple of hours, which makes me think I might be filling up on stuff that isn't that great for me and I know that people I know who do low-carb say the best thing about it is you don't get hungry between meals.

I have a problem with dodgy blood sugar as well, in that I rarely actually get hungry, I just all of a sudden start feeling sick. I am not diabetic, neither is my Mother but she has it like me but worse-she actually has physically been sick within a couple of minutes of the feeling, even when she doesn't feel she's hungry before that point. I think doing a low carb plan might be good for my blood sugar levels.
I am an inventive cook, but wondered if anybody may be able to help me with regards what sort of foods I should be looking at.
I'm not very overweight, but I am a bit tubby around the middle which I really want to change.
So far, for foods I can eat on a low carb diet I have;
Tofu
Nuts
Seeds
Hummus
Low carb almond milk
Spinach
Avocado
Coconut milk
Low-carb almond milk (if I can find that?)!
Sprouted seeds (not sure which ones)!
Bamboo shoots
Herbs
Courgete
Celery
Cauliflower
Broccoli
Peppers
Kale
Lettuce
Berries
Zero (shiritaki) noodles
Guacamole
Olives
Nutritonal yeast
Almonds (I know they're a nut but apparently they're especially good)..?
Asparagus
Oils (coconut/olive)...
I am wondering about flavours-maybes I can use some commercial sauces, chilli powder etc..

Anyone any experiences or advice?

Thank you in advance

Blueberries
Jun 14th, 2013, 06:35 PM