PDA

View Full Version : Bread

Pages : [1] 2 3

tricia
Apr 22nd, 2004, 02:05 PM
(This initial post is a compilation of posts from a thread at 'Veganforum 1')

M45 Posted: Apr 2 2004, 12:54 AM

Hi All

I'm new to veganism, and I'm finding it quite hard at times. I love bread, and I have noticed some breads contain milk and some do not. Can anyone tell me some good (common) breads that do not contain animal products (and taste good of course)?

Thanks,

-m45

globesetter Posted: Apr 2 2004, 08:55 AM

Hi M45 -

I«ve been vegan for over 7 months - my experience is that it is confusing at first - hard to find out where all the animal ingredients are - but it soon becomes second nature and routine.

I can«t recommend a specific brand, but I can tell you that most of the commercial brands on the shelf at the supermarket are not very ideal in many ways - no whole grains, preservatives, additives - lots of stuff that are just not needed in bread but added to make a product for the company to sell. I think your best bet is to go to the bakery counter at the supermarket and ask for a whole grain bread that doesn«t have any animal ingredients, or just read the labels - bread should only have a few ingredients, not a long list of stuff.

all the best,
globesetter

Cloudy Posted: Apr 2 2004, 11:54 AM

Most supermarket breads in the UK are vegan I think, unless it's something weird like "milk roll". Even a lot of bagels and such like are vegan.

Mmm bagels

marinoa Posted: Apr 2 2004, 07:46 PM

In the supermarket, natural ovens breads are mostly vegan (and high in fiber, protein) except their whole wheat one which I think has honey. their vitamins etc are all vegan friendly. They have a web site too www.naturalovens.com.
Usually focacio bread (unless topped by cheese) is made with olive oil, I have made it at home. The drier breads I think dont have milk. Of course, the softer enriched breads will have butter.

miss_taken77
Jun 23rd, 2004, 04:07 PM