PDA

View Full Version : All about TVP (Textured Vegetable Protein)

Pages : [1] 2

St George
Aug 1st, 2004, 10:30 PM
I have found goodnessdirect.co.uk, but their postage charges are more than I am willing to pay. Are there any other online shops that sell it cheaper, or high street shops that sell it?

It is VEGAN chunks that I want. Maybe they are all vegan. I dont know as I am new to this, lol!

Thanks in advance:)

gertvegan
Aug 2nd, 2004, 08:29 AM
St George, have you checked out the health food shops in your area? You'll be surprised at all the goodies you will find.

Gorilla
Aug 2nd, 2004, 12:31 PM
Sainsbury's do some fairly good TVP chunks and they only cost about 60p for a packet which serves about 4 i think. i used to use it sometimes but i've gone off it now.

Tofu Monster
Aug 2nd, 2004, 12:35 PM
I buy mine from Holland and Barrett. They have plain or savoury TVP available in chunks or mince, depending on what consistency you want. I use them in chilli and they're fine. They're reasonably priced, and yes, they are vegan!

drummer
Oct 28th, 2004, 02:21 AM
TVP is really great cooked in the crock-pot (slow cooker) with vegetables as a casserole.

tails4wagging
Oct 28th, 2004, 07:15 AM
St George, try Holland & Barratt or your local health shops. I think Sainsburys, Asda and Tesco sell the tvp chunks?. They are in a packet/box on the shelves.

eve
Oct 28th, 2004, 09:03 AM
I don't normally buy TVP, but I'm going to a little get-together and we are all bringing something savoury. I thought this might be a good introduction for them to try something resembling mince. But when I looked in the supermarket, that Sanitarium company have just about halved the size of the packet, doubled the price to $5 for 200gr, and when I checked the ingredients listing, they now put milk in it! Grrrrrr. Oh well, I'll make something nicer.

snaffler
Oct 28th, 2004, 12:06 PM
I buy mine from Frome Wholefoods they get the bulk stock from Essential in Brizzle sorry :D Bristol

drummer