PDA

View Full Version : Vegans with low B12 level but no symptoms.

lars2raw
Nov 17th, 2005, 07:48 PM
Hi all you good vegans:-)

I am a raw vegan. I have been eating raw for 3 years. The last 1˝ year I have been eating 811 (Dr. Grahams raw style 80% calories from carbs, 10% protein and 10% fat) Its about eating alot of fruit every day and alot of greens but no hot spices, no salt, clever food combining, low fat, a few seeds and nuts. No grains. This feels great. I love to eat 20 bananas for lunch;-) And I have discovered alots of exotic fruits I didn't know existed before. Totaly yummi fruits like durian.
Maybe some of you have experienced what I have experienced.
I went to the doctor and had my B12 testet. The result was too low (it was 45 picomol/liter) but I have no symptoms of B12 defience at all. I feel so alive and healthy.
Any one tried the same? What did you do? What did your mother said?

Ofcourse I must say I have made a B12 friendly programe to ensure my future.
Its something like this:
1.I will stop drinking tap water
2. Eat a little dirt every day.
3.Don't use tooth paste anymore
4. Eat more organic
5. visualising better B12 levels.
And IF any symptoms shows up I will start eating some supplements.

Love and health

Lars

Tigerlily
Nov 17th, 2005, 10:21 PM
I believe (although I am no expert) that once you start showing signs of deficiency, then it's very serious and even 'too late'.

Why not take supplements now?

There isn't any B12 found naturally in vegan foods, supplementation is necessary.

lars2raw
Nov 18th, 2005, 08:41 AM
I believe (although I am no expert) that once you start showing signs of deficiency, then it's very serious and even 'too late'.

The symptoms comes slowly and I will know them as they begins.
Supplementing is like using crutches. It is good when you can't walk, but if you walk perfectly then why should one use them??? ;)

I won't use crutches when I walk perfectly!:)