PDA

View Full Version : how long different food items last in the fridge?

foxytina_69
Feb 2nd, 2006, 01:38 PM
does anyone know how long lentils or brown rice keep for in the fridge?

oldsilverhead
Feb 2nd, 2006, 01:40 PM
I am no expert but I leave them for 4/5 days maximum although I am guessing they would probably stay fresh for a week

oldsilverhead

foxytina_69
Feb 2nd, 2006, 01:42 PM
thats what i thought, i was thinking about a week. thanks :)

harpy
Feb 2nd, 2006, 01:42 PM
I don't know the answer but I'm always careful with rice since a microbiologist told me that it's good for growing cultures of bacteria :eek: Think I would keep it overnight but not much longer than that. It's also meant to be important to cool it down fast and put it straight in the fridge.

I don't know of any problems with lentils though so I'd probably keep them until they started tap-dancing round the fridge ;)

ETA I just found this page http://www.eatwell.gov.uk/asksam/keepingfoodsafe/asksamcooking/ about rice which suggests keeping it no longer than a day.

sugarmouse
Feb 2nd, 2006, 08:25 PM
good idea for a thread! what about soya beans and quinoa?i alway pre cook these n neverknow how long i can keep them.:)

Jane M
Feb 2nd, 2006, 08:47 PM
What about dishes made with tofu in them..like stuffed shells or lasagna? Can they be frozen for fast meals later? I like them but usually my recipes make so much that I only make them when there is company. I figure the next day is ok if I refrigerate but a little scarey after that unless I can freeze them.

Hmmmm tap dancing lentils...now there is a mental picture!

RedWellies
Feb 2nd, 2006, 08:50 PM