PDA

View Full Version : Steamed veggies and tofu: what can I add to it?

Sparrow
Mar 1st, 2006, 10:49 AM
Hey everyone,
Well I am a hopeless cook and work late so when I get home I usually just steam some vegies (broccoli,carrots, capsicum, zucchini, peas and corn) and tofu then add some soy sauce. Well as you can imagine it is quite a boring meal so I'm looking to add a couple of things to it to add some flavour. Any suggestions? I've chosen to have a steamed meal for dinner as I am keen to lose some weight which is also why I am limiting my carbs in the evening time.
Thanks!

absentmindedfan
Mar 1st, 2006, 10:50 AM
Brown rice?

Sparrow
Mar 1st, 2006, 10:54 AM
Hi Absent :)
Yes brown rice would be ok but I am trying to limit my carbs at night.
I was more thinking in terms of herbs and nuts, but as I have said, I am a hopeless cook so I don't know what would be best. Maybe a kind of dressing that I could quickly whip up?

lozza
Mar 1st, 2006, 12:56 PM
how DO you actually steam vegetables?

i mean, i know you can buy vegetable steamers..(i think anyway) but if you dont have one, how do you? is that the best way to cook veggies without losing vitamins? i normally either cook veg in a pan, or something.

Sparrow
Mar 1st, 2006, 01:15 PM
I'm not sure if steaming is the best way to cook vegies without losing vitamins. Some of the vitamins go into the water that one has steamed with so it is beneficial to drink the water as well but admittedly I never do.
The steamer I have is simply a pot with another pot on top which has holes on the bottom of it (which I assume is the actual steamer). I think the holes allow for a better steaming process but you can steam with simply a pot of boling water with a plate on top filled with your vegies or whatever and add a lid to make the process quicker.
But I am no expert on cooking!

FR
Mar 1st, 2006, 01:29 PM
Add some Bragg's Liquid Aminos, yum!

Sparrow
Mar 1st, 2006, 01:31 PM
^ Sorry, do not know what that is!

FR