PDA

View Full Version : How does your G.P. treat you?

Pages : [1] 2 3 4

sandra
Jun 1st, 2006, 08:56 AM
I'm just interested to know what your experiences of going to the doctor are like with regard to being vegan.
My experiences are usually negative, once I tell the doctor I'm vegan I get a look of something bordering on pity and am usually told I'm probably lacking in iron. One doctor told me I needed to eat 'red meat', when I told him I hadn't eaten 'red meat' in over 30yrs and that any blood tests I ever had [including ones for iron levels] were always normal he looked at me as if to say "I find that hard to believe".
Once when I told a female G.P. that I couldn't take the tablets she was prescribing as the capsules contained gelatine, she replied, "They're made of plastic aren't they?"
Well, I'm no doctor but I don't think swallowing pieces of plastic four times a day for a week would be good for you!
I would love to hear your experiences with G.P's and how you dealt with them as it would help me the next time I have to visit my doctor.

eve
Jun 1st, 2006, 08:59 AM
My doc knows that I'm vegan, and he is very interested. He said "whatever you're eating, just carry on because it is obviously doing you good!"

foxytina_69
Jun 1st, 2006, 09:13 AM
i just got a new doctor, and i told her i was vegan and she said "thats good! thats a very healthy diet to be on!!" i was surprized.

claireyveg
Jun 1st, 2006, 09:13 AM