Thread: Starting a Vegan Restaurant

Default Starting a Vegan Restaurant

I have somewhat of an entrepeneurial spirit and have a desire to start a Vegan restaurant where I live. I have many vegan/ vege friends who have expressed the same desire. Currently, there is not a single non-ethnic vegan or vegetarian restaurant in a city of 600,000+ people, even though we have some very "liberal/hippie" neighborhoods with great health food and organic grocery stores. I am positive such a restaraunt would be very successful. Unfortunately I have no experience in the restaurant business or a large sum of money to be the sole investor. I do know some investors to help me, but I would need to develop a businees plan about a business I know nothing about. Does anyone here own and operate a restaurant and be willing to offer me some advice on how to get started?
    "Hey everybody, I made some Gazpacho"- Lisa Simpson
    "
    Go back to Russia"- Barney Gumble:D

Default Re: Starting a Vegan Restaurant

Do it!! One is definately needed in North Carolina My dad thought about opening a restaurant recently - I suggest talking to restaurant owners, thats what we did - we know a chef really well and we almost went in with him to open a restaurant - it feel through when the place we were going to rent got rented though . anyways just go to one of your favorite local restaurant and ask the owners - they are usually willing to help and share tips
    "An outside enemy exists only if there is anger inside."
    - Lama Zopa Rinpoche

I have no idea if these are worth anything, but you can take a look:

http://www.virtualrestaurant.com/sample.htm
    http://www.restaurantowner.com/public/510.cfm

Well...to develop a business plan you need a lot of estimates...because face it, in the situation, it all comes down to money.