View Poll Results: Do you rely on processed foods or ready meals as part of your vegan diet?

Voters
110. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes

45 40.91%
  • No

65 59.09%

Thread: Do you rely on processed foods or ready meals as part of your vegan diet?

Default Do you rely on processed foods or ready meals as part of your vegan diet?

I was just curious as to how many people rely on processed foods or ready meals as part of their vegan diet. I don't consider tofu a processed food, but things like tofu hot dogs and burgers yes. Perhaps some people may have different opinions as to what constitutes processed foods... anyway I'd be interested to hear your views. Thanks

Default Re: Do you rely on processed foods or ready meals as part of your vegan diet?

I eat the Amy's brand and Gardenburger brand frozen dinners. Also the Gardenburger and Boca Burger veggie burgers. I am new to veganism and need the extra help. I wasn't even veggie for long so treating veggies as the main part of a meal is something I need to work at. However, I don't eat the frozen dinners every night and I supplement them with some vegetable I cook or salads I prepare.

Default Re: Do you rely on processed foods or ready meals as part of your vegan diet?

Tofu is the only processed food I eat occasionally. Otherwise, my credo is "the less processed the better for you". Most of the processed stuff available also puts me off because it's made to resemble meat. I also enjoy cooking and trying out new things, so usually I do my own cooking. If I'm pressed for time, I will have leftovers frozen for this purpose, or it's just sandwiches or muesli.
    I can understand though that processed foods can be of great help especially if you're new to veganism.
    Edit: As people seem to take soya milk and yogurt as processed foods - which I wasn't thinking of as such - I have to add them to my list of processed foods I consume.
    First it was necessary to civilize man in relation to man.