Thread: Sleep, booze and diet

Default Sleep, booze and diet

I normally wouldn't make an issue of these problems; afterall I am a student, and what student doesn't drink too much, sleep too little and subsist on prepackaged crap. However over the last few months I've had to deal with some pretty weighty emotional issues, which I won't bother getting into, but they're still taking their toll on me financially, academically and socially, and this is what I'd like a bit of insight on.

Basically, as a result of previous circumstances, I'm flat out broke. I've pretty much reached my overdraft limit, and I'm suddenly having to face some hefty bills - about £1500 for accommodation, as well as a BT bill for cancelling an 18-month broadband contract which will probably come to about £500. My laptop is wrecked as someone spilled rum and lemonade on it, and my car has just broken down as a result of a dead alternator and battery. In mid-January I left an abusive relationship, and when I moved back into student accommodation I was so happy, and everyone around me was so nice, I just forgot everything and absorbed myself into my new home.

Last night was the first time I'd been sober in about a week and a half. I tend to always have a couple of bottles of red wine or a crate of cider in my room, which tend to be demolished within a day or two, whether I have company or not. I'm quite sociable about it; if people want to come and sit with me I'll offer them a drink or two, we sometimes end up going out and that always spells disaster. I do know my limits and don't usually drink to the point of passing out, but I have been overdoing it quite a lot in the last few weeks. Of course with the drinking comes the smoking, and I'll sit and smoke half a pouch of Cutters Choice in one evening, easily.