I thought you guys could help me out with something. Yesterday I bought some "greek" bread which seemed to be totally vegan. There's one thing I'm unsure of, however. The bread contains amylase. Now, I suspect that may ring a bell for many of you. For those of you who haven't heard of it, amylase is an enzyme we have in our saliva and somewhere below the stomach. It helps digestion.
Now before you go on thinking I'm crazy I should say the bread looked very tasty and has a lot of healthy ingredients
I'm wondering where this amylase comes from, though. Is it from an animal or produced in a laboratory (god, I really hope it's not spit, haha)?