Thread: New to buying in bulk

Default New to buying in bulk

Hello! I am a poor college student hoping to save money this year by buying a few things in bulk like brown rice, quinoa, oatmeal, dry beans, etc.... This may sound like a silly question, but do different dry items need to be stored differently. It makes sense to me that things like bread would need to be frozen, but what about nuts? For some reason, I recall someone telling me that some of these items need to be frozen. Also, what kind of jars/containers are best for bulk foods? I'd like to invest in something that I can use again and again so as not to waste money. I'm just trying to avoid buying a ton of food and then having it go bad and attract critters (eek!!). Sorry for all of the nutty questions. I really new to this Thanks!

Default Re: New to buying in bulk

ok..i may be wrong but i wouldn't buy nuts in very large quantities as they can go rancid and manky within a few months if you don't eat them up..especially brazil nuts??
    also stuff like dried herbs i wouldn't get in massive quantities..sure they keep wll but it seems insane to buy humongous quantities of stuff?

if i have stuff like flour it tends to get used up pretty speedily with baking so i just put it in a cupboard? other more organised sensible people might put fluor/sugar in screw top jars.
    other stuff...rice, pasta, millet, quinoa gets stored in sturdy plastic or glass jars..screw top jars tend to keep critters out.
    ahronli sed ah dunit so thid tek thuh cheyus graytuh offa mi nihbles

Yes I would keep everything grain-based, including flour and pasta, in airtight jars or in the fridge, otherwise you may get flour moth type insects taking up residence - they don't seem to be very fussy. Rather than buy special containers you could use jars or boxes left over from stuff that you have bought - coffee, jam, "ice cream", or whatever, although some of these tend to be rather small.