Thread: New vegan!

daveshorty

Default New vegan!

Hi all... Just wanted to see if I could get some advice from you knowledgeable types out there...

I've just become vegan and I want to check out a typical daily eating plan to make sure it's alright...

If i stick more or less to these daily amounts: http://compassionateconsumption.blog...r-healthy.html in my food and take the vegan society Veg 1 vitamin containing B2, B6, B12, Vitamin D, Folic Acid, Iodine and Selenium once a day, should that be me all set and nice and healthy?

Many thanks for your help!

Dave.

Default Re: New vegan!

I would say that 6-8 servings of fortified soy milk and alternatives per day is a bit excessive! Most people wouldn't have more then two or maybe three. I am no expert by the way, I just couldn't imagine drinking that much soy milk

The rest sounds ok - more vegies would be nice. I doubt I ever have that much beans and grains either, but that is just me

My typical day is:
    - oatmeal with fruit or toast with marmalade and green tea for breakfast
    - lunch is normally a salad sandwich with lots of avocado, ramen noodles or soup (like pumpkin soup or split pea or something)
    - Dinner is normally wholemeal pasta with lentil bolognaise or tomato based sauce or sauteed mushrooms, burritos with avocado, refried beans and salad in it, soups, veggie burgers, falafel and tahini wrap with tabbouli, vegie stir fry and brown rice....whatever I feel like really

I snack on fresh and dried fruit, potato chips and I drink water, green tea and juices and soda
    I take B12, calcium and at the moment folic acid (I am pregnant), but that is all.
    I am lucky to have soy milk once a week and it is not fortified (I use Bonsoy).

All this and I am perfectly fine I am sure you will be too

Just listen to your body - it will tell you what it wants/needs.

I hardly ever drink soy (or any other) milk - will I die?