Thread: Should I start taking B12 supplements?

Default Should I start taking B12 supplements?

Hi there! I apologize in advance for being a total newb. I hope I'm not posting in the wrong section or anything.
    I was wondering if you should start taking B12 supplements as soon as you go vegan, and if it's dangerous to wait a bit.
    (More details, in case you need them: I've only been vegan for 3-4 months after some vegetarian years and I took this b12 deficency thing quite... lightly, but all the articles I'm reading are starting to scare me
    I eat fortified cereals everyday, but it looks like I should eat tons to reach the RDA, and I admit I don't eat much in general. I'm going to take a blood test in a couple of weeks to check if everything is fine. I've been dizzy and very tired lately, but I'm pretty sure I can blame stress and university for that.)
    Thanks for your patience!

Default Re: When to start taking B12 supplements?

Hi,

since B12 levels among both vegans and non-vegans vary from person to person, there's no fixed rule saying that 'vegans should start to take B12 after X weeks' or that 'vegans that go non-vegan should start to take folate after Y weeks'...

The B12 thing isn't more 'scary' than what non-vegans exprience - they often lack a lot of nutrients as discussed in eg. this thread.

Too little - or too much - of anything isn't a good idea.

What many vegans seem to do is to figure out what nutrients vegans may risk having low levels of, and take some supplements to be 'safer' than they would be if they weren't taking any supplements.

For some reason, many of us didn't figure out which nutrients non-vegans often have too low levels of, followed up by supplementing with those nutrients to be on the 'safer' side (before we turned vegan).