Thread: Italian Erasmus

Default Italian Erasmus

Hey all

As I'm studying Italian at uni, the time has come to arrange our ERASMUS year, which I'll be on from September 2009 until June/July 2010. Like most Italian departments, ours is ridiculously underfunded and small and therefore our options for places to spend what they've assured us will be the best year of our lives are fairly limited. The choices are:

• Bologna
    • Genoa
    • Turin

So, what I was wondering is if any of you have been to/lived in/are from/spent time in any of these places as a vegan and how you found it. Any and all advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Anything anyone can tell about other places in Italy would also be great, since I intend to do a fair bit of travelling and we've also somewhat ambiguously been told "there may also be a few other places" in other cities so any information anyone from anywhere in Italy would really be fantastic!
    Thank you all in advance

Default Re: Italian Erasmus

Well I live in Bologna, and they've just opened up a new high speed rail link - 1 hour to Milan It also goes to Rome and to Naples - Bologna-Rome 2 hours I think.
    Bologna, in transport terms, is a bit of a "hub" - you can be at the beach or in the mountains in an hour and a half or so.
    I love Turin - only been a couple of times but I like the atmosphere there. It's also a thriving city from an artistic point of view, lots going on. On the other hand it's a bit of a pain to get to transport-wise; Bologna-Turin is around three hours by train.
    Don't know anything about Genoa, unfortunately.

Bologna has various health food shops and restaurants, and a big market Fridays and Saturdays. I think out of the three it'd be your best choice.
    Just my two (Euro) cents

Any info you need, just ask

Hi there!
    First of all, good luck for your Erasmus