Thread: Clicky cracky knees!!

prilly-pie

Default Clicky cracky knees!!

Everytime I bend down/squat/kneel, my knees will crack so loud. Im a student paramedic and I have to do a lot of physical work - kneeling to the patients level, lifting, climbing onto the back of an ambulance, etc etc and my crewmates have all noticed the horrible cracking sound when I attend a patient and make without fail they make a "Oooooouch" sound. Im pretty fit and flexible, about 20lbs over weight (however when I was normal/under weight they were still cracking back in 2004/5)
    After a day at work kneeling down to everyone, I dread doing it because it begins to hurt.

Has anyone got any advice? Any experience? Any solutions and diagnosis'?

Aprille

Default Re: Clicky cracky knees!!

I have heard that clicks and cracking noises of this sort without associated pain are not an indication of anything at all.

In particular vegan forum is not allowed to suggest diagnoses or medical advice, but if you are worried or concerned see your doctor or phone NHS Direct.
    See my local diary ... http://herbwormwood.blogspot.com/

I've had clicky cracky knees since being a child and I was told it was just air being forced out of the socket - not sure if that's true but I've never had any problems with them otherwise. Oh, I have double jointed knee caps as well but I'm not sure that makes any difference (my knee caps move around more than they should do!).
    Women are like teabags. We don't know our true strength until we are in hot water!

I guess there are many causes of clicks and cracks, but I believe one common cause is when a tendon or ligament becomes tightened over another similar structure. At some point in the movement, the "piece of string" thwacks itself free.
    Problematic is waking someone whom pretends to sleep.

prilly-pie

eeuuuggh sounds horrid whalespace!! *shivers*

Ok well thanks for your thoughts