Thread: please read..im a little lost.

Default please read..im a little lost.

so today i had some yummy lays potato chips...but really waned some dip so i looked thru some of my stuff and had some left over creamy ranch i read the ingrid. and it all seemed ok..then my husband told me there is whey in it..and i read it better and it says 2% whey concentrate...then i went to this site and it said that the creamy ranch is vegan safe...im soo confused and feel really quilty...im really new to this vegan lifestyle and ive been trying and actually doing very well...just a lil lost on some things plz help me on the dip...

Default Re: please read..im a little lost.

Not vegan. If it says on the package there is whey then there is whey. Also check and see if there is any cholesterol. It may not be listed because of the small serving size but that's always a good indicator if a food is vegan or not.
    Also, as a vegan it is hard to trust any packaged foods. I always suggest and recommend that people of any diet stick with non-processed foods. Fruits, veggies, whole grains, legumes, beans, and nuts. For vegans this assures that it's animal free and healthy as well.
    pro-vegetable

Hi new2vegan

Please don't worry or beat yourself up about it - everyone makes mistakes now and then!

My top tip is to always trust the ingredients list more than a "vegan" label, as the ingredients list is going to be more accurate.

Check the ingredients prior to buying/eating something, and any time you're not sure about something just check it out first, either by asking on a site like this, by Googling, or by emailing the manufacturer. You'll start to build up a good knowledge of the foods that you like and which are suitable for a vegan.

You're doing very well, and every thing you get right is a bonus for the animals. But mistakes will happen so just treat them as a learning curve and move on. Gradually you'll become more confident and make fewer mistakes, I promise!