Thread: i'm getting some sheep!

Default i'm getting some sheep!

i decided to get some sheep to help my horses eat their paddock as they are getting v v fat, so i thought i'd get a rare breed like jacob sheep, i rang a local farmer who said he had some that were destined for the freezer as they weren't good enough to breed from or show, i didn't think rare breeds got eaten, how stupid am i? anyway they are coming to live with us now and shall never, ever be eaten and will hopefully live a long happy life, does anyone have any special tips on how to look after them. i know the basic stuff about not letting them have grass that is too long and shearing and feet trimming but as i'm new to sheep just thought i'd ask!!thanks
    also just a little happy thought for the day: just rescued two more chickens before they got eaten too!

Default Re: i'm getting some sheep!

Nice one, pie! I haven't got a clue about sheep but well done for taking them on. They'll be great at clearing the rough grass the horses don't want too. What horses have you got? I'm down to one but in winter I'm always very grateful for that and then in summer I wish I still had my mare!

That's nice - are they Jacob Sheep that you're getting in fact? Those are so pretty, but sheep generally are lovely.

Of course there is a lot of stuff about keeping sheep on the web but I'm not sure how relevant most of it will be in your circs seeing most of it is about rearing sheep commercially. Maybe something like this would help http://www.accidentalsmallholder.net...ettingstarted/
    And I suppose the Defra site will tell you about any regulations you need to comply with.