Thread: traveling being vegan...

Default traveling being vegan...

this is my first year being vegan, and for the summer vacation we are taking a plane trip to some island... since the past year, ive dropped 80lbs, and im still watching my weight and at the same time trying to stay constantly vegan and i know going on vacation will be very hard... i want to desinate a bag of luggage and pack all my diet/vegan foods when i go so i have my food for the week... does anyone knw if airports allow you to pack a luggage full of foods for travel? i was thinking some cans of food, meal bars, vacumed sealed box of almond milk, dry cerals etc. is this possible? i should be excited for the vacation and im more worried for the week of eating...

Default Re: traveling being vegan...

Travelling as a vegan can sometimes be a real pain in the bum. It really does depend where you're going though, 'some island' isn't a lot of info! In terms of bringing food, I've travelled from Asia to Europe with a few treats in my bag and it was no problem. Honestly though, wherever you're going, I think you're better off investigating the local food and seeing what can be veganised, or even what's already vegan! Obviously you need to bring a few things in case you get caught out, but for me, half the fun of travelling is tasting local food, and even if you are on a diet, you still need to enjoy your holiday.
    Todays empires, tomorrows ashes...

Jamaica is very vegan friendly, for those planning on going there The all inclusive resorts are fantastic.