Thread: "If you want to read only one article about B12, read this one"

Default "If you want to read only one article about B12, read this one"

I've posted hundreds of posts about B12 over the years, and know that most people don't have time or interest in all those details. So - although I'm not a scientist or a dietician, I'm planning an article/post/thread which hopefully can remove as much confusion as possible for those who find this topic confusing.

Some of the conclusions scientists have come to aren't at all compatible with other scientists' conclusions, and the idea behind a short version/resume is to offer a simple text (max circa one page) which in an as unbiased way as possible explains what the experts discuss and what the most recent findings about B12 suggest... of course, with an emphasis on what's relevant for people living on a plant based diet today.

If you can help me create a short list of the questions/findings that seem most confusing, it's easier for me to make a short and hopefully informative overview of what scientists know about vegan-relevant B12 topics anno 2011. Thanks in advance.
    I will not eat anything that walks, swims, flies, runs, skips, hops or crawls.

Default Re: "If you want to read only one article about B12, read this one"

My questions would be:

Why do I need to know about B12? (Catch people's attention!)
    Can anyone be deficient in B12 e.g. vegan, veggie, meat eater etc?
    Am I more likely to be deficient in B12 than a meat eater?
    What's the potential impact if I am? - i.e. should I be worried?
    How can I find out for sure? (Are there any tests?)
    How can I get B12 in my diet in a form that my body can definitely use?
    Is it possible to get too much B12?
    Is there any new/exciting research out there? (One or two sentence overviews)

I think this is a really good idea as it can look like a confusing topic but probably isn't!

In additon to Est's questions it might be worth covering: