Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Need a reply to this stupid statement.

Default Need a reply to this stupid statement.

I've found myself in one of those 'discussions' with a bunch of vegan-haters on another forum. I'm doing fine and there's a couple of other vegans helping out, and we're staying calm and polite. But somebody has just come up with something idiotic, which I know is false, but I can't think of how to word my reply properly, since I'm no expert on nutrition.

He says 'Humans cannot digest greens, they need animals to do this for them'. Amusingly, he then says 'Vegans have no idea how the digestive system works', so it's just begging for a reply.

So, I assume humans can digest greens? Is that comment as idiotic as it sounds? I'm fairly sure I manage to digest them fine

Default Re: Need a reply to this stupid statement.

You'll find your reply in this article http://www.vegsource.com/news/2009/1...of-eating.html, it's about the fact that human are closer in anatomy to herbivores than carnivores.

Quote Farflame View Post
    ...since I'm no expert on nutrition
    I think you're more knowledgeable than someone who claims that we need animals to digest our greens for us!
    Houmous atá ann!

Well yeah, I have a reasonable knowledge of food, but I'm not one of those who can whip up nutritional facts (I should learn). This statement was so odd though that it perplexed me and although it seems stupid, I thought I'd better double-check before replying. Thanks for the post, I've read stuff before on nutrition, I'll find something clear to reply with

Never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.
    "I don't want to live on this planet any more" - Professor Hubert J. Farnsworth

There is a big difference between arguing and laying down the facts for them to digest. I say explain it in simple terms and dont try and change their mind, just give them the facts. That is how I have done it in the past.