Thread: HELP! Emergency!

Default HELP! Emergency!

Ok, I have only been vegan for 5 days now. Doing good, BUT, I live in in Louisiana 30 miles from New Orleans. They are forcasting Isaac and say that we may not be able to go anywere for several days. I am planning to go to the store tommorrow to stock up, but being brand new at this i dont now what to get that can be considered non-perishable. I am very new at this and have been doing a lot of stir fry and pastas with veggies. I need to stock up on pantry foods, they are comparing this to katrina right now, with that one we were without electric for a week. If this happens again i would like to know what i should stock up in my pantry that does not have to be cooked, as i have no way of cooking if the power goes out. I go shopping tommorrow, please help, also, just so you know, the only problem i have found in the past 5 days is that i seem to be hungry more. It seems i get hungry every 2 hrs or so, when eating just veggies. I cannot eat apples but can eat applesauce. Thanks in advance for any suggestions.

Donna

Default Re: HELP! Emergency!

Hi,
    Unless - and even if - you have access to a gas primus/stove, maybe you should have a look at our raw food section, think about what kind of canned/dried food which could be good to have, and have a look at Foods that you keep on a regular basis: your shopping list and see if you get any ideas.

This could actually be a good opportunity to check out new things to eat, and more fun that trying to live on only crackers with jam, bread with tartex, or hummus, or chocolate, nuts and apples for a week. (Some may disagree in this! )

Some express meals, like eg. (canned) beans with home made guacamole (you don't need electricty, just use a fork) and nacho chips/salsa/canned corn may be almost as good cold as warm, and can be made in a few minutes.