Thread: How can I eat vegan on a budget while also making sure to eat healthy?

Default How can I eat vegan on a budget while also making sure to eat healthy?

I'm a student right now with a budget of $15-30 a week to spend on food, and I really can't go very far over 30, as I'm not working, until I find a job.

My primary concern is being able to eat healthily while being able to afford it. I'm pretty overweight, and while trying to lose, my caloric needs will be around 2200 calories per day. (Any less and I'll lose too quickly.)

How can I eat vegan on a budget while also making sure to eat healthy?

Quote Karl Kalinowski View Post
    I'm a student right now with a budget of $15-30 a week to spend on food, and I really can't go very far over 30, as I'm not working, until I find a job.

My primary concern is being able to eat healthily while being able to afford it. I'm pretty overweight, and while trying to lose, my caloric needs will be around 2200 calories per day. (Any less and I'll lose too quickly.)

How can I eat vegan on a budget while also making sure to eat healthy?
    Heya Karl, you should check out the 'poor vegan, cheap living' thread . I don't really know how much basics cost where you are and how much $30 would get you, but buying dried beans, rice and frozen vegetables should be pretty cheap and last you more than a few meals.
    Houmous atá ann!

Default Re: How can I eat vegan on a budget while also making sure to eat healthy?

Hi. As Blueberries says, vegan food can be really cheap and nutritious (as well as tasty). Just steer clear of "special" foods such as fake meat and cheese which tend to be expensive and stick to the basics. I think you can probably afford non-frozen vegetables as long as you stick to buying what's in season.

Here's that other thread, in case you can't find it: http://www.veganforum.com/forums/sho...n-cheap-living

Default Re: How can I eat vegan on a budget while also making sure to eat healthy?