Thread: Overnight Oats Recipe ... Yummy! :-)

Default Overnight Oats Recipe ... Yummy! :-)

I've never tried this before and OMG it's totally yummy!

I'm sure there are a lot of recipes online but I used this one ... http://ohsheglows.com/2011/02/01/car...comment-311313

Ingredients:
    1 cup Almond milk (or your choice)
    1/3 cup regular oats
    1 tbsp carob powder (I buy it at bulk Barn)
    2 tbsp chia seeds
    Tiny pinch of kosher salt
    1/4 tsp pure vanilla extract
    1-2 tbsp walnuts, chopped (optional, or use other nuts)
    1 ripe banana, chopped
    Maple syrup to drizzle, to taste (optional)

Directions:
    Mix the dry ingredients (oats, carob powder, chia seeds, optional walnuts, salt) in a medium sized bowl with a whisk. Now pour in the milk and pure vanilla extract, Whisk well until all clumps are gone. Finally, Stir in the chopped ripe banana. Place in the fridge for 1 hour or overnight. You can cover it, or leave it under covered. When ready, give it a good stir and enjoy. Drizzle a bit of maple syrup on top if you wish! You can get creative with different mix-ins too.

I made a few changes because of what I have on hand and regularly use:

> Substituted 2 tsp Raw Cacao Powder for 1 TBSP Carob Powder (Note: could probably use as little as 1 tsp Raw Cacao Powder ... will try that next time)
    > Substituted Flax Seed Meal for Chia Seeds … used same amount as recipe
    > Used 1/2 Banana (half is plenty sweet for me)

I did not use nuts or maple syrup ... trying to keep down my over consumption of nuts ... and did not want added sugar w/ maple syrup.

And for the milk I used Silk's Soy Organic Unsweetened.

Make sure to use the Vanilla Extract ... it really adds to it.

Try it ... you'll love it!
    Last edited by MissKat; Apr 14th, 2013 at 10:18 AM. Reason: Added information.
    Be the change you want to see in the world.
    ~ Mahatma Gandhi

Default Re: Overnight Oats Recipe ... Yummy! :-)