Thread: Would you eat chips from a takeaway or restaurant?

Default Would you eat chips from a takeaway or restaurant?

Obviously chips are made from potatoes which are fine... But I've just found out today, after eating a box, that Mc Donald's fries are made with beef flavouring, & so are the hash browns, which makes them not even vegetarian... I know high street takeaways & restaurants don't use beef flavouring, but they probably use the same fats to fry chips in that they use to fry meat & dairy dishes in, for example fried chicken, mozzarella sticks... Blah, blah, blah...

Again, I'm a Vegan noob, & still learning really... I've been Vegan for just over a month now & decided that this is a life time choice for me, so I was quiet annoyed to find this out after I'd eaten some Mc Donald's fires, I felt as though I'd just ruined everything... I know chips & takeaway food is unhealthy, but I do like a treat a the weekends, & I just wondered what the others Vegan's thoughts are on this...

Are chips completely off the menu unless they are cooked at home...?

Default Re: Would you eat chips from a takeaway or restaurant?

I didn't think they used beef flavouring in their UK chips http://www.mcdonalds.co.uk/ukhome/wh...your-menu.html unless that has changed?

Otherwise you can ask places how they cook them and then decide. Personally am not so worried about cross-contamination but couldn't face anything from McDonalds!