Thread: Doctor says that I NEED to have some animal protein in my diet

Not currently a vegan

Default Doctor says that I NEED to have some animal protein in my diet

Hello everyone,

I've come here because I feel like I could really use some advise from people who have been vegan for a while.

I've been eating vegan for two months now, and am doing my best to live a vegan life style by avoiding any products tested on animals/ animal by clothing / etc (which is all going very well). I became vegan due to doing research on the way that animals are treated in farms for meat and dairy and I will never go back to supporting such a disgusting industry again. I have always loved animals and always wanted to be vegetarian but never thought I could do it, until one day I tried and never went back. I then wondered why dairy was so bad and did some research and completely gave that up too. With all this research came knowledge on products that test on animals which I have completely avoided since.

I have had some health issues over the past 7 months and have been in and out of doctors- no period, acne, weight gain, anxiety, stress. In the past 4 months I have managed to gain 14 pounds - from a 5'1 female 54 kg to 61kg, so I decided to go and see a nutritionist. She told me that being vegan was not going to help my health problems in any way and that I NEED to have some animal protein in my diet in order to restore my hormones, stop anxiety and become healthy again. She begged me to buy some fish oil supplements and to at least eat fish but I told her that there's no way. I really want to become healthy again but I really stand my ground when I say that I won't be going back to eating anything to do with animals.