Thread: Vegan meals based on plants from under the ground

Administrator

Default Vegan meals based on plants from under the ground

Hi, someone sent us this mail today:

"hi
    i am a chef from australia and i have a problem coming up next week,i have a person coming to us to stay and he is a vegan,but with a difference as he only eats vegetables from under the ground,can you assist me with some ideas on what to give him?
    your assistance would be greatly appreciated
    thanks"

Who wants to suggest something?

funkyvixen

Lol, woah, thats an interesting diet, doesn't seem like it could be very healthy!

Anyway, some musings:

Soups would be easy - based on onions, carrots, potatoes, beetroot, turnips, celeriac, parsnips, swede....wonder if this guy would allow use of oil for frying the onions, and would the contents of vegan stock be acceptable? You could always use water for both I guess, but it wouldn't be as nice. A stew would be similar (just keep the veg chunkier and don't whizz it).

Trying to think of something *interesting* to do with just root veg....lots of ways with potatoes of course....does rice count as over or underground, do you think, as its grown in paddies? Kinda halfway?

Roast (in fact any way) parsnips are gorgeous IMO. But again you'd ideally need oil or something to do anything more than boil or steam them.

Potato bakes - potato, onions - I would use soya dairy products to make a sauce though, and thats not underground veg.

Carrot & beetroot salad is nice (sliced beetroot and grated carrot). I would make a vinagrette though using oil & vinegar which don't come from under the ground. Celeriac is nice raw too.

Mashed carrot, swede & turnip is nice together.

This poor chef has to be the victim of a joke, right?

Quote funkyvixen
    Lol, woah, thats an interesting diet, doesn't seem like it could be very healthy!
    Haha aye, be good if the visitor was in fact a mole