I've been starting to do research into what items chain restaurants (i.e., Applebee's, Denny's, etc.) have that are "vegan friendly" as my parents like to go out to eat when I visit and I get tired of them saying, "you're too picky, it's impossible for us to go out to eat." I've just started emailing companies (describing, in detail, what a vegan won't eat) and reading up on this, so I thought maybe some of the other members have already found out some information. I also thought it might be nice to know for being "on the road" and not knowing local restaurants (which some of you have mentioned in your area, but chain restaurants might be easier to find).
Here's what I've learned so far:
Appleby's: other than salad, nothing listed as vegan friendly; however, they were willing to work with me and I got a baked potato with steamed veggies and a bit of teriyaki sauce and soy sauce over it. All their rices have meat broth on them.
Denny's: as far as I can tell, mainly the fruit cup and oatmeal are vegan for breakfast, but you have to request the oatmeal without butter (or they put a big glob on the top); also some of the breads (for toast etc.) are supposed to be OK, but I don't know the specifics; I also put hershey's syrup on my oatmeal. They have a Boca burger, but it has cheese IN it.
Anyone else have any info on common CHAIN RESTAURANTS?