Thread: Traveling Vegan

Default Traveling Vegan

Hi,
    I'm quite new to veganism, and I was hoping to get some tips and options. I am a anime/manga artist and for most of the warm months, I travel around to near by states setting up at conventions. Usually, I am gone for the weekend, Thurs to Mon.
    I doubt that I will have any refridgeration available to me. I have pretty much figured on being nearly raw all weekend, since many whole fruits don't need refirgeration, or preperation.
    I like fruit, but i was hoping someone had some tips on other no prep, no refridge foods and drinks. Or even a decent vegan fast food option(not holding my breath).
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    thank you very much!
    "Uh, we don't eat meat. It's kind of like a professional courtesy." -Maggie, Home on the Range

ConsciousCuisine

Default Re: Traveling Vegan

Get a cooler, keep it in your car and transfer your perishable goods to the hotel mini refrigerator.

If you don't want to bring perishables, bring baby carrots, celery, nut and seed butters, fresh fruit, dried fruit, nuts, seeds, packets of oatmeal and ground flax for a healthy breakfast; you can use the coffee maker to warm water and make it yourself!

Bring individual boxes of rice/soy milk.

Bring boxes of a hearty cereal.

Bring baked goods such as healthy high-fiber and protein muffins you made yourself. Also, bring cookies just because

Bring dehydrated hummus and pita bread/chips/tortillas to eat with the following:

Bring canned soups, refried beans, veggies, chili and a can opener.

Bring dehydrated black beans and split pea soup mix. Add hot water from the coffee maker a can of corn to these for a quick and easy meal.

The possibilities are endless!

PM me if you need any help troubleshooting.

CC, you rock!
    Thank you so much for your ideas, no wonder everyone here absolutly loves you! I will probably print your post and take it with me when i stock up for each trip.