Thread: Cleansing period?????

Default Cleansing period?????

Hello everyone,

I'm a new vegan. I haven't eaten any meat since last week and went cold turkey into becoming a vegan mainly due to health reasons.

I've tried to become lacto-ovo vegan before but developed a bad case of gas after a few days of not eating meat. I went to my doctor in a panic and he sent me to a nutrionist who wasn't a vegan of course. She told me that I should not stop eating meat and that my case of gas was due to me eating to much leafy green vegetables. Not knowing any better I followed her advise and ended right back eating meat again.

I just graduated college with a bachelors degree in health science which I took a few nutrition classes before I graduated and a wellness class with a major focus on nutrition/alternative health. Nevertheless, I know better now.

Thus, I have become a vegan and I suffer from gas (no stomach pain) and I can only think the cause of this is due to a sort of cleansing process.

Can someone tell me if this happened to them and if so for how long did it last for?

Thanks,

Default Re: Cleansing period?????

Well, vegans stereotypically have a lot of gas. I know I probably fart about 30 times a day at least.

Vegetables, whole grains, and beans do make people gassy and it's normal really.

Adding cumin and/or ginger to foods or drinking real ginger tea (boil a chunk of ginger not drink ginger flavoured tea bags). It could help lessen the gas.
    Peace, love, and happiness.

Quote Tigerlily
    Well, vegans stereotypically have a lot of gas. I know I probably fart about 30 times a day at least.

Vegetables, whole grains, and beans do make people gassy and it's normal really.

Adding cumin and/or ginger to foods or drinking real ginger tea (boil a chunk of ginger not drink ginger flavoured tea bags). It could help lessen the gas.
    Thanks again Tigerlily,

Speaking of ginger, my mom has some right down stairs now. She drinks it when she gets a cold.