Thread: Encouagement for my Child

Default Encouagement for my Child

Hi,

I am new to veganism. I just started in Dec 05. I went from the "great" american diet straight to veganism. I am not finding it too difficult because I just decided it was what I was going to do.

When I made the decision to change I educated my son on the lives of the poor animals and other aspects of veganism and he wanted to join me.

He has been doing really well. I am still trying to get the hang of cooking vegan meals so he has some issues with that but overall he is doing well.

I have a few problems. First my husband is still a meat eater. He does support our choice to go vegan but doesn't really respect it. He will offer our son items that he knows he can't eat (like sample fish sticks at the market the other day). My second problem is my sons determination. I am afraid he will give up on the whole idea or give into his dad in secrecy. I continue to educate him in the hope that he will not give in.

Basically I was wondering if there are people out there with the same issue. What did you do?

I also thought it might be good if my son could talk to other kids his age who are vegans so he could find encouragement. Does anyone have children in the age range of 10 that could be a pen pal for my son?

Thanks,
    Girbey

Default Re: Encouagement for my Child