Page 1 of 9 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Thread: Witty vegan comebacks / one-liners

Smile Witty vegan comebacks / one-liners

Hallo all! I'm very excited to have just joined the forum!

After a big-time ephiphany (aided by Fast Food Nation), I've been a happy vegan for (all of) six months. I'm not preachy, but at family get-togethers and at school (I'm a law student), the fact that I don't eat meat, dairy, or eggs sometimes comes up. Now, I don't give a flying patootie about what other people think about me, or about my choices - but sometimes (and you all know what I mean) I want to totally slap someone silly with my response. The old "raising and slaughterhouse conditions, animals are our friends, health concerns, and general ickiness" just sometimes doesn't fly!! I know these are good reasons, but to someone who isn't vegan, such reasons rarely make any sense! Plus they usually raise the "vegan preacher" defenses, and the people refuse to listen to a word.

So here's my question: do any of you have any fantastic, witty comebacks for the annoying dork who sometimes sneers, "You don't eat meat?" or the equivalent, "What are you, some kind of freak?"

Happily, these situations only come across once in a blue moon, but boy would I love to be able to snap back when they do! Childish, I know, but we've all been there! So best wishes to all, and thank you for your thoughts!!!

seviya

Default Re: Witty Vegan Comebacks!

while most can appreciate my decision, i have lost a ton of weight and am back to my happy yet cynical self, i still get the question of calcium, protein, iron blah .... when people actually care, i give them a definition of what i eat (greens are so high in calcium) but usually i ask them if they know what their intake of calcium, protein, and iron is. that usually shuts them up. if it doesn't i go into the junk they eat that i don't, fast food is so easy to rip apart.

that wasn't witty at all
    let's here some

Seaside